Launching the new Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik brand

As a long-time specialist in steering units for commercial vehicles Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik (HNF) offers individual product solutions in a wide range. Until 2013 HNF was producing as a contract manufacturer for big companies in the industry of agricultural and construction vehicles. In 2014 the company started developing new hydraulic products including taking care of sales on her own. The company did exsist – but the brand did not. In cooperation with Maria Weding, Schwerin, Kollaborat developed the brand with all its facets.

Background situation

Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik developed and produced steering units for agricultural and construnction vehicles as a white label for Bosch Rexroth. In 2013 HNF also integrated the sales sector – and was responsible for saling and distributing their products by themselves. But the company lacked a competitve brand to be able to operate world wide. They were facing a new challenge of competition and sales.




„We have to do something now.“

André Knaack, Head of Sales

Brand clarification workshop

A brand clarification workshop with participants of all mangagement levels and departments helped integrating the company in the corporate identity process. How does the brand feel like? What are the relevant characteristics of the brand? What is the differentiating factor to competive brands? With several creative and strategic trainings the company’s identity and its intended image have been shaped out.

Brand strategy

The conclusions of the brand clarification workshop have been worked out to brand values and tonalities. An overall brand idea out of the brand strategy delivers the theoretical base for the visual design process. Designed graphical moodboards show the first realisation of the strategy.

The triangle shows the moment of enabling.

Basic elements

Logo and claim
Well-known visual parts og the logo were kept and typographically harmonized. Adding an english written claim opens the brand for global markets.

Colors
The color scheme has been sharpend: the bright turqoise strengthens the recognition and marks the visual difference to competitors. The dominating white color represents the clarity and openess of the brand.

Design principle
The flexible design principle embodies the brand idea: the triangle as a key visual stands for HNF and shows the moment of enabling. This originates the stage für partners, clients and employees. The accent strip emphsizes the cooperation between both parties.

Imagery
Lighting moods and an authentic depth of field define the imagery. It makes this engineering brand approachable and emotionalizes it. Next to products, also working processes and product implementations are shown.

Typography
Typographically HNF embodies with a combination of the type face Brix Sans and Brix Slab continuity and clarity.

Communication media

Supporting the sales team with new tools to face the growing challenges of competition in the engineering industry traditional communication media has been designed.

Online brand manual

The HNF brand portal documents as an online styleguide all aspects of the new brand. Information about brand strategy and detailed communication media are accessable for users world wide. Digital templates such as logo files and MS Office templates are provided throughout this tool. The brand portals works as a safe, always up to date brand information and marketing platform for internal and external partners.

Project facts

Time: April 2014 - January 2015
Client: Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik GmbH & Co.KG, Parchim
Job: Development and implementation of brand strategy and corporate design
In cooperation with Maria Weding

Markenrelaunch Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik

Etabliert als Spezialist für Lenkaggregate im Nutzfahrzeugbereich bietet Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik (HNF) individuelle Produktlösungen für die unterschiedlichen Her­ausforderungen bei Land- und Baumaschinen. Bis 2013 produzierte HNF ausschließlich für große Unternehmen als Lohnfertiger. Doch seit 2014 werden am Parchimer Standort auch neue hydraulische Produkte entwickelt und von dort aus weltweit vetrieben. Es gab das Unternehmen, doch keine Marke. In Zusammenarbeit mit Maria Weding, Schwerin, entwickelte Kollaborat die Corporate Identity.

Ausgangssituation

Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik entwickelte und produzierte Lenkaggregate für Land- und Baumaschinen für Bosch Rexroth. Durch die Übernahme des Vertriebs im Jahr 2013 was das Unternehmen erstmals gefordert, seine hydraulischen Lenkprodukte selbt zu vertreiben. Der einstige Produzent musste sich stärker denn je der Herausforderung des weltweiten Wettbewerbs und Vertriebs stellen. Es fehlte ein konkurrenzfähiges Erscheinungsbild, das den Anspruch einer nun international agierenden Marke erfüllt.





„Wir müssen etwas tun!“

André Knaack, Leiter des Vertriebs

Markenklärungsworkshop

Durch einen Markenklärungsworkshop wurden die Geschäftsleitung und Schlüsselpositionen des Unternehmens wie Abteilungsleiter, Betriebsrat und stellvertretende Facharbeiter von Anfang an in den Prozess integriert. Wie fühlt sich die Marke an? Welches sind die relevanten Charakeristika der Marke? Was sind die wirklichen Unterschiede zum Wettbewerb? Mit verschiedenen kreativen und strategischen Übungen wurden Identität und zu erzielendes Image des Unternehmens erarbeitet.

Markenstrategie

Aus den Erkenntnissen des Markenklärungsworkshops wurden Markenwerte und Tonalitäten bestimmt. Mit der Entwicklung einer Markenidee lieferte die Markenstrategie die theoretische Grundlage für den anschließenden Designprozess. Ein Moodboard visualisiert die erste Umsetzung der Strategie.

Das Dreieck bildet den Auslöser, den Moment, der ermöglicht.

Basiselemente

Logo und Claim
Tradierte Bestandteile des Logos wurden beibehalten und typografisch optimiert. Mit der Ergänzung um einen Claim öffnet sich die Marke für den globalen Markt.

Farben
Das Farbklima wurde geschärft. Das helle Petrol stärkt den Wiedererkennungswert und ist visuelle Unterscheidung zum Wettbewerb. Weiß, der dominierende Farbton, steht für die Klarheit und Offenheit der Marke.

Gestaltungprinzip
Das flexible Gestaltungsprinzip verdeutlicht die Markenidee: Das Dreieck als Stellvertreter für Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik bildet den Auslöser, den Moment, der ermöglicht. Daraus entsteht eine Bühne für die Partner, Kunden und Mitarbeiter. Ein Akzent betont das Ergebnis der Zusammenarbeit.

Bildwelt
Durch die definierte Bildwelt mit Lichtstimmungen und authentischer Tiefenschärfe wird die Maschinenbau-Marke nahbar und emotional. Es werden nicht nur Produkte selbst gezeigt, sondern auch deren Anwendungsbereiche sowie Arbeitsprozesse im Unternehmen.

Typografie
Typografisch verkörpert HNF mit einer Kombination der Schriften Brix Sans und Brix Slab Beständigkeit und Klarheit.

Kommunikationsmittel

Um den Vertrieb für die neuen Anforderungen zu stärken wurden eine Reihe von klassischen Kommunikationsmitteln in der neuen Markengestaltung umgesetzt.

Markenportal

Das HNF-Markenportal dokumentiert als Online-Styleguide die neue Marke in all ihren Facetten. Neben Markenstrategie sind alle relevanten Informationen zu Kommunikationsmitteln abrufbar. Auch können digitale Vorlagen wie Logodaten und MS Office-Vorlagen geladen werden. So dient das Markenportal als sichere, stets aktuelle Markeninformationsplattform für Mitarbeiter und externe Dienstleister.

Projektfakten

Zeitraum: April 2014 - Januar 2015
Kunde: Hydraulik Nord Fluidtechnik GmbH & Co.KG, Parchim
Aufgabe: Entwicklung und Implementierung von Markenstrategie und Corporate Design
In Zusammenarbeit mit Maria Weding